2021 HiiL African Justice Innovation Symposium

The symposium is a 4-day conference that brings together innovators, partners and funders across the African continent (East, West, North and South) who are interested in or working to prevent or resolve pressing justice problems. These stakeholders will engage in conversations around some of the challenges faced by justice innovators in trying to deliver user-friendly solutions that are people-centered to communities across the continent.

Day 1 Session (Monday, 15th November 2021): South Africa

Theme: Hybrid models for last-mile justice delivery.

This first-day session ran by HiiL South Africa will feature:

  1. Welcome and Symposium opening – HiiL Innovation Hub EA, Head – Eric K. Mwangi
  2. Keynote presentation (Innovation in Last Mile Justice Delivery) – Justice Edwin Molahlehi
  3. Round Table discussion – Hosted by HiiL Innovation Hub SA, Head –  Adam Oxford 
  4. Build your dream justice app – A facilitated workshop on building your dream justice app as it applies to the last mile justice delivery.
  5. Virtual coffee and networking

Below are the speakers for the Round Table Discussion:

  • Tshenolo Tsaodi – CAOSA (Panelist)
  • Boroto Ntakobajira – African CoE for A2J (Panelist)
  • Johnlyn Van Reenen – Open Society Foundation (attending via Zoom) (Panelist)
  • Darryl Bernstein – Baker McKenzie (Panelist)
  • Kelly Parkhurst – ABSA (Panelist)
  • Prof Sope Williams- Elegbe – Univ. Stellenbosch (Panelist)
  • Grant Rock – Partner and Executive Director at HAVAIC (Panelist)

Time: South Africa – 3:00 PM SAST, East Africa – 4:00 PM EAT, West Africa – 2:00 PM WAT, North Africa – 2:00 PM NAT

Day 2 Session (Tuesday, 16th November 2021): East Africa

Theme: How do we attract and retain the right Talent to drive justice innovation?

Discussion Topic: Attracting and retaining the right talent to drive innovation in justice.

This second-day session ran by HiiL East Africa will feature:

  1. Talent Round Table Discussion: Attracting and retaining the best talent for Justice startups in a highly competitive market.
Below are the speakers for the Talent Round Table:
  • Nyambura Catherine Wahome – Human Capital Director at Pawame (Moderator)
  • Andrew Anampiu – Data science team lead and technical recruiter at Moringa school (Panelist)
  • Joan Kamau – Head of Sales Kenya at AMI (Panelist)
  • Marita Mutemi – CEO and Founder at Peleza International (Panelist)

Time Zone: South Africa – 6:00 PM SAST, East Africa – 7:00 PM EAT, West Africa – 5:00 PM WAT, North Africa – 5:00 PM NAT

Day 3 Session (Thursday, 18th November 2021): North Africa

Theme: Develop a unique identity while aware of the competition and partners.

Discussion topic: Startup Identity and Awareness about competition and potential partners.

This third-day session ran by HiiL North Africa will feature:

  1. Welcoming & Introduction – Master of Ceremony, Jazem Halioui
  2. Keynote Address – Director of Justice Accelerator, Ronald Lenz
  3. Round Table Discussion – Hosted by Jazem Halioui
  4. Practice Exercise: A role-play on how to have a conversation with your competition or partner.
  5. Virtual coffee and networking

Below are the speakers for the Round Table Discussion:

  • Salma Baghdadi – Startup Ecosystem Director, Smart Capital (Panelist)
  • Leila Charf – Partnerships Director – Impact Partner, Yunus Social Business Network (Panelist)
  • Sonia Barbaria – Principal Officer – Affirmative Finance Action for Women in Africa #AFAWA (Panelist)
  • Anis Kallel – HiiL Innovation Hub – NA, Alumni (Panelist)
  • Sonia Mavouna – HiiL Innovation Hub – NA, Alumni (Panelist)

Time Zone: South Africa – 6:00 PM SAST, East Africa – 7:00 PM EAT, West Africa – 5:00 PM WAT, North Africa – 5:00 PM NAT

Day 4 Session (Friday, 19th November 2021): West Africa

Theme: Fundraising for startups.

This fourth-day session ran by HiiL West Africa will feature:

  1. Welcoming & Introduction
  2. First Speaker Panel – The topic is on Raising financing as an impact startup.
  3. Second Speaker Panel – The topic is on Legal Innovation in Africa.
  4. Third Speaker Panel – The topic is on Building a Sustainable Impact Startup in Africa.

Below are the speakers for the Panel Discussion:

  • Dotun Olowoporoku, PhD – Early Stage VC Investor (Panelist)
  • Rotimi Ogunyemi – ICT Attorney (Panelist)
  • Oyeyinka Bada – Lead Product Manager, LawPavilion (Panelist)
  • Gbenga Sesan – Executive Director, Paraigm Initiative (Panelist)
  • Tomilola Adejana – Co-Founder/CEO, Bankly (Panelist)

Time Zone: South Africa – 5:00 PM SAST, East Africa – 6:00 PM EAT, West Africa – 4:00 PM WAT, North Africa – 4:00 PM NAT

HiiL 2021 African Justice Innovation Symposium

Join the HiiL 2021 African Justice Innovation Symposium 4-day conference by clicking on the sign-up button below: